Fulton, MO 75° View Live Radar Fri H 85° L 66° Sat H 84° L 67° Sun H 86° L 70° Weather Sponsored By:

Callaway split new ways in new General Assembly districts

Callaway split new ways in new General Assembly districts

December 2nd, 2011 in News

A new Missouri legislative redistricting plan has split Callaway County in a newly-created House district and moved the county to a new Senate district that stretches all the way to Missouri's eastern border along the Mississippi River.

The new House and Senate districts were created by a panel of six state appeals court judges based on the 2010 census.

If re-elected next year, Rep. Jeanie Riddle, R-Mokane, would continue to serve most of Callaway County in the new district. The newly-created 49th District now includes Fulton, Mokane, New Bloomfield and Holts Summit. But the new district for the first time splits off the eastern half of Callaway with an imaginary line stretching from just east of Mokane northward to Interstate 70.

The new 49th District also includes part of Cole County outside the northwestern Jefferson City limits. The area includes Scott Station Road, Schumate Chapel Road, Smith Road, Randall Drive, Deerfield Place, Green Valley Drive, and portions of Henwick and Gary lanes in Cole County.