Fulton, MO 71° View Live Radar Thu H 91° L 72° Fri H 93° L 74° Sat H 91° L 75° Weather Sponsored By:

New Fulton city leaders seated

New Fulton city leaders seated

April 11th, 2019 by Jenny Gray in Local News

Fulton Clerk Courtney Crowson swears in new members of the Fulton City Council on Tuesday, including Rick Shiverdecker (left), Lindsey Pace-Snook, Valerie Sebacher and Jeff Stone.

Photo by Jenny Gray /Fulton Sun.

The face of Fulton's City Council changed this week, at least for the next two years.

A swearing-in took place in the council chambers, seating Lowe Cannell as mayor, and two new council members, Lindsey Pace-Snook and Valerie Sebacher. Two incumbents retaining their seats in the April 2 election, Jeff Stone and Rick Shiverdecker, also were sworn in by city Clerk Courtney Crowson, as was city attorney Robert Sterner.

Resolutions and plaques were presented to now former Mayor LeRoy Benton, and retiring City Council members Richard Vaughn and Wayne Chailland.

All in all, it was a bittersweet evening.

"We've had a great eight years," Benton said. "We haven't always agreed, but we've always respected each other."

Benton served as Fulton's mayor for eight years.

"I just want to stand here and thank each one of you. Of course, that also goes for the staff," he added. "I'm very appreciative."

He's been showing new mayor Cannell the ropes since the election. He also presented small gifts to Vaughn and Chailland.

The new City Council now includes three women, including Mary Rehklau. After new pictures were taken, the council got right down to businesses and elected Rick Shiverdecker as deputy mayor. There were two public hearings for rezoning 2705 and 2605 Westminster Ave. from A-1 agriculture to M-1 industrial; no one spoke.

The next City Council meeting will be 6:30 p.m. April 23.