Today's Edition News Sports Obits Digital FAQ Events Contests Classifieds Autos Jobs Newsletters Search
story.lead_photo.caption Fulton sophomore Josh Reams makes a pass during a Class 4 District 8 Tournament game last month against Boonville at Roger D. Davis Gymnasium. Reams was named a second-team honoree on the Central Missouri media all-district basketball team. Photo by Adam Feiner

A total of 17 Callaway County high school basketball players were named to the Central Missouri media all-district team, which was announced Wednesday.

The Fulton Hornets, which ended their season with a 19-3 record and a district runner-up finish, had three players named to the Class 4 boys all-district team. Sophomore Courtland Simmons was one of 15 players selected to the first team, while sophomores Walker Gohring and Josh Reams both made the second team.

Seniors Kayanna Gaines and Sydney Hedgpath represented the Fulton Lady Hornets on the Class 4 girls all-district second team. Fulton finished its season with a 7-16 record, losing to eventual state champion Boonville in the district semifinals.

North Callaway also had three players receive all-district honors in Class 4.

For the Thunderbirds, senior Cody Cash was selected to the first team and Matthew Weber was named to the second team. North Callaway finished its season with a 12-13 record.

Freshman Abrielle Burgher made the all-district second team for the Lady Thunderbirds, who posted a 5-17 record this season.

The South Callaway Lady Bulldogs were one of two teams to have four players recognized on the Class 3 girls all-district team.

The Lady Bulldogs had a total of three players — seniors Paige Clubb and DeLaney Horstman, and junior Raegan Brown — on the first team, while junior Hailee Potter made the second team.

South Callaway ended the season with a 19-3 record, losing in the state sectionals to Tipton, the other Class 3 girls team with four players on the all-district team.

The South Callaway Bulldogs had three players recognized on the Class 3 all-district team. Junior Trynnen Gray made the first team, while senior Brandon Brewer and junior Trace Helsel were placed on the second team. The Bulldogs ended the season with a 13-12 record.

New Bloomfield senior Makenna Branch and junior Asya Nichols were selected to the Class 3 girls all-district second team. The Lady Bulldogs had a 6-14 record in 2020-21.

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.