Today's Edition News Sports Obits Weather Events Contests Classifieds Autos Jobs Search

For some, the release of the class and district assignments last Friday didn't mean much. For others, it's a whole different ballgame.

Nothing changed for the Jefferson City Jays except for the district number. The Jays are now in Class 6 District 2 instead of 3, but it's the same eight teams from all across the state.

Helias could see some old foes in its new district.

Instead of going north, the Crusaders will have the opportunities to go east and south in Class 4 District 5 play.

Helias is paired with seven different schools in its district this year.

"I think it's kind of exciting to see some new teams," Helias coach Chris Hentges said. "There's a chance we're going get to play Camdenton again for the first time in a long time or Rolla."

Helias, Camdenton and Rolla were all former opponents in the Mid-State Conference.

The adjustment went a step further for the Blair Oaks Falcons, who were bumped down from Class 3 to Class 2 and was placed in District 5.

"Our athletic director, Corey Felten, called me that morning and said, 'Well, we're Class 2,'" Blair Oaks coach Ted LePage said. "I said, 'All right, here we go.'

"Do you look at all that stuff? Yeah, you're going to have to look at it. But right now, our main goal is one thing: Friday night at 7 p.m., we're running fast."

Blair Oaks turned in a 9-11 enrollment of 337, and the cutoff for the biggest school in Class 2 is 337.

Had Blair Oaks been Class 3, the Falcons would have picked up zero bonus points. Now that they are Class 2, they will receive 60 bonus points for playing six Class 3 teams: Maryville, Oak Grove, Boonville, Eldon, Southern Boone and School of the Osage.

The last time Blair Oaks was in Class 2 was in 2013 when it made it to the state semifinals.

California, North Callaway and South Callaway join Blair Oaks in Class 2 District 5.

Versailles remains in Class 2 District 4, where Lamar, last year's state champion, is the overwhelming favorite.

The eight-team district has three new teams: Butler, East Newton and Sarcoxie.

"We're not ready to win a state title," Versailles coach Broc Silvers said. "The next step in the process for us is to play for a district title. I'd say Lamar will be the No. 1 district seed. But from No. 2 through 8 I like our chances to compete with anyone in the district."

School of the Osage and Eldon are both in Class 3 District 5. Eldon is the defending district champion.

"The unknown was different this year, but at the end of the day it was out of our control," Eldon coach Chad Hult said. "The way it ended up playing out, we are in with the same teams we have been the past few years. The only change is Salem coming in, but it gives us some familiarity with the majority of the teams in our district."

Fulton will be in Class 3 District 4, which has added Moberly, which won a district title last season as a Class 4 school.

Tipton has been assigned to Class 1 District 5.


Class 6 District 2

Blue Springs, Blue Springs South, Francis Howell, Francis Howell Central, Fort Zumwalt West, Jefferson City, Rock Bridge, Troy-Buchanan.

Class 4 District 5

Camdenton, Helias, Pacific, Rolla, St. Francis Borgia, Sullivan, Union, Washington.

Class 3 District 4

Centralia, Fulton, Mexico, Moberly, O'Fallon Christian, Southern Boone, Winfield, Wright City.

Class 3 District 5

Buffalo, Eldon, Logan-Rogersville, Owensville, Salem, School of the Osage, Springfield Catholic, St. James.

Class 2 District 4

Butler, East Newton, El Dorado Springs, Lamar, Sarcoxie, Stockton, Versailles, Warsaw.

Class 2 District 5

Blair Oaks, California, Father Tolton, Hallsville, Hermann, Montgomery County, North Callaway, South Callaway.

Class 1 District 5

Concordia, Fayette, Harrisburg, Salisbury, Santa Fe, Slater, Sweet Springs, Tipton.

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.