Today's Edition News Sports Obits Digital FAQ Events Contests Classifieds Autos Jobs Newsletters Search
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
story.lead_photo.caption David and Crystal Trammell Photo by Olivia Garrett / Fulton Sun.

This column serves as a spotlight, highlighting the everyday people who work and live in Callaway County. The Fulton Sun takes a moment to explore the community and meet those instrumental in making our community the strong and beautiful place we all know and love.

David Trammell lives in Fulton with his wife, Crystal Trammell, and three children. David grew up in Brooklyn, while Crystal was raised in the Bronx. In 2011, the couple decided to trade New York City for Mid-Missouri, where they have grown their family. David works for the Central Missouri Foster Care and Adoption Association, to support youth ages 17-26 who have been in foster care as they gain independence.

Q: What was your first job?

I worked at Fulton Nursing and Rehab. I was an NA (nursing assistant) and got my CNA (certified nursing assistant). I moved on to the State Hospital and stayed there for about two years. I then advanced my education at Columbia College and I finished my associate's degree in human services.

Q: Who is someone that inspires you?

I would say my greatest inspiration is a former social worker, Guy Bryant (Over the years, Bryant has fostered more than 50 young men in New York). He tried to instill accountability. He wanted me to make my own path I've definitely shown that I'm not giving up on something anytime soon. I really admire his devotion to serving others.

Q: What is something that you are proud of?

My most recent accomplishment is my associate's degree. It hasn't been an easy task, working full-time and being a dad and a husband.

Q: What in your life has been the most fulfilling?

Seeing my children grow knowing that they don't have the pressure I experienced growing up in New York. They have the time to be children and that is, in my opionion, so fulfilling.

Q: If you could do any job in the world, what would it be?

What I'm doing right now. As a former foster child, I know exactly what these children are feeling. The life that I've lived has prepared me for this position.

Q: What is a job you wouldn't want to do?

I'm really haven't considered that. I've been open to anything — CNA, cook, laborer. If needed, there isn't any type of work I would turn down.

Q: What is your favorite thing about Callaway County?

I love the small town feel. There's never a trip to Walmart where you don't see someone that you know. You could walk in New York and you could walk for days without seeing anyone you know.

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT