Fulton, MO 68° View Live Radar Mon H 84° L 68° Tue H 88° L 72° Wed H 94° L 74° Weather Sponsored By:

Plein Air contest brings 44 artists to Callaway County

Plein Air contest brings 44 artists to Callaway County

June 3rd, 2014 in News

Artists and volunteers mingle during the "wet paint" reception Friday at the Art House. The Plein Air competition included 44 artists who entered 110 paintings.

The Plein Air contest held by the Art House in Fulton saw 110 pieces of artwork by 44 adult artists and three youth artists judged Sunday.

The event started Friday night as artists locally, statewide and farther away gathered in Fulton and sought out locations in Callaway County - many landscapes or buildings - to paint.

It was a new experience for some.

"I have new respect for Plein Air," Jamie Humphreys, an artist from Fulton, said during the "wet paint" reception Friday evening.

Humphreys had previously painted landscapes from photographs, but never live while in the elements. The wet paint reception invited artists to bring in their first paintings from the weekend and mingle with other artists.

The event continued through Saturday and Sunday, each artist allowed to enter up to three paintings in the compeition. An additional 15 paintings were hung by artists who exceeded the maximum three for judging.

"The input from the artists was glowing and they were amazed at what a successful inaugural event we had," Brian Mahieu, Art House curator, wrote to the Fulton Sun in an email. "We are already thinking about how to make next year's even better."

The people's choice award voting is going on all week with the winner to be anounced at 5:30 p.m. Thursday during the monthly downtown First Thursday event when shops are open late.

The Art House is located at 531 Court St. in Fulton's Brick District.

For more information, visit arthousefultonmo.org or call 592-7733.


1st Place - Dennis Babbitt - $500

2nd Place - Marty Coulter - $250

3rd Place - Lorraine McFarland - $100

HM - Tatyana Robberts

HM- Brian Mahieu


1st Place - Mya Alonso - $20

2nd youth - Saffron Miles - $10

3rd Youth - Sofia Hansert - $5