Fulton, MO 71° View Live Radar Tue H 89° L 70° Wed H 88° L 71° Thu H 84° L 69° Weather Sponsored By:

Callaway United Way announces honorary chairpersons

Callaway United Way announces honorary chairpersons

July 17th, 2014 in News
Cliff and Lois Nevis will serve as the Honorary Campaign Chairpersons for the Fall 2014 Callaway County United Way campaign.

Cliff and Lois Nevis will serve as the...

Photo by Contributed

The Callaway County United Way has announced that Cliff and Lois Nevins will serve as Honorary Campaign Chairpersons for the Fall 2014 annual campaign.

Cliff Nevins recently retired from decades of service at Shelter Insurance. Lois was a registered nurse at Callaway Community Hospital, from which she recently retired.

"We're thrilled to be asked," Cliff stated in a press release. "It's a real honor to be involved with the CCUW in any capacity - and I'll be honest with you, they've been after me for a while to do something. Now that I'm retired, I have the time to dedicate to this wonderful organization."

Lois concurred.

"We have always supported the Callaway County United Way, but with Cliff working in Columbia and me working full time, it's been difficult for us to commit to too much. Now we have the opportunity to really get in there and, hopefully, make a difference," she stated in the press release.

Callaway County Executive Director Kathy Richey Liddle said the Nevinses were a natural choice.

"They have always been great supporters of the United Way," Richey Liddle told the Fulton Sun.

She said the Nevins regularly donate and Lois has helped with videos for the organization. She also noted they are good advocates of the United Way.

"The honorary campaign chairs are our cheerleaders," Richey Liddle said.

She said the campaign chairs speak to organizations and businesses throughout the community about the United Way's efforts.

The 15th annual CCUW campaign kicks off this year Sept. 26 with the radio-a-thon.

Previous Honorary Campaign Chairpersons have been Debbie Larue, Charlie and Jo James and, last year, Barney and Jane Forsythe.