Fulton, MO 57° View Live Radar Mon H 60° L 51° Tue H 69° L 49° Wed H 58° L 41° Weather Sponsored By:

Riddle elected to House leadership position

Riddle elected to House leadership position

November 5th, 2010 in News

Rep. Jeanie Riddle, R-Mokane, has been elected as the Missouri House majority assistant floor leader.

The assistant majority floor leader works with the majority floor leader to set the legislative calendar and determine which legislation makes it to the floor for consideration and when it is debated. The assistant majority floor leader also helps control the flow of business on the House floor. Riddle's position is the fourth highest position in leadership of the 163-member Missouri House of Representatives.

"I am humbled and honored that my fellow caucus members elected me to this position that will be instrumental in guiding legislation through the process," Riddle said. "More importantly, this position will provide me the ability to do even more for the people of Callaway County and Mid-Missouri."

In Tuesday's general election, House Republicans won an additional 17 seats from Democrats. No Republican incumbent in the House lost in Tuesday's election. Republicans now hold 106 of the 163 House districts.

"The people of Missouri have shown they want conservative government that will reduce spending, work to create more jobs, and help defend our personal freedoms," Riddle said. "I plan to use my new leadership position to promote these principles and goals, and to be a more empowered representative of the people of Callaway County."

Riddle will assume her duties as assistant majority floor leader when the 96th Missouri General Assembly convenes in January.

Riddle succeeds Rep. Tom Self, R-Cole Camp, as the assistant majority floor leader. Self is leaving the House because of term limits.

Other newly elected leadership positions in the Missouri House are:

House speaker, Steven Tilly of Perryville; speaker pro tem, Shane Shoeller of Willard; majority leader, Tim Jones of Eureka; majority whip, Jason Smith of Salem; caucus chairman, Shelley Keeney of Marble Hill; caucus secretary, Sue Allen of Town and Country; budget chairman, Ryan Silvey of Kansas City; and fiscal review chairman, Rick Stream of Kirkwood.