Fulton, MO 81° View Live Radar Mon H 92° L 75° Tue H 93° L 74° Wed H 87° L 70° Weather Sponsored By:

Fulton Rotary Club awards scholarships

Fulton Rotary Club awards scholarships

June 9th, 2019 in Local News

The Rotary Club of Fulton recently presented seven $1,000 scholarships and 12 Nolin Courtesy Awards at area schools.

The Fulton Rotary has been awarding scholarships to Callaway County high school seniors to further their education for more than 40 years. The Nolin Courtesy Award, which was established in 1944, recognizes local youth in Fulton elementary and middle schools for their courtesy and good citizenship.

The scholarship recipients are:

Fulton High School — Rachel Arens, Taylor University, Upland, Indiana; Evan Gray, Southeast Missouri State University, Cape Girardeau; and Julia Mendez, Colorado-Mesa University, Grand Junction, Colorado

New Bloomfield High School — Mackenzie Garrett, Lincoln University, Jefferson City

North Callaway High School — Jenna Leible, Moberly Area Community College, Mexico

South Callaway High School — Chyann Pate and Mackenzie Wetherell, both State Technical College, Linn

Recipients of the Nolin Courtesy Awards are:

Bartley Elementary School — Ava Miller and Gage Tiffany

Bush Elementary School — Sydney Morts and Jackson Crain

Kingdom Christian Academy — Olivia Huff and Caleb Pezold

McIntire Elementary School — Reilly Barnes and Amiyah Edwards

Fulton Middle School — TJ Aguma and Grace Ousley

St. Peter's eighth grade — Rheanna Belt

Missouri School for the Deaf—Nina Beamish

"Mose" Nolin, owner of a local drugstore and a member of the Fulton Rotary Club, started the tradition to honor students in Fulton schools. Nolin believed students should be recognized for their courtesy and good citizenship, and he provided the funds for the Nolin Courtesy Award. After his death, the club continued to present the award in his honor. For 71 years, the club has kept this tradition alive by recognizing hundreds of outstanding Fulton students.

Henry Niles, owner of Callaway Carriers, chairs the scholarship project for the Fulton Rotary. Jacque Cowherd, superintendent of Fulton Public Schools, chairs the Nolin Courtesy Awards project.