Today's Edition News Sports Obits Weather Events Classifieds Autos Jobs Search
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Legislation affecting vehicle safety inspection requirements, driver's license and vehicle registration processing fees, and more will take effect Aug. 28, according to a recent news release from the Missouri Department of Revenue.

Currently, motor vehicles are exempt from biennial safety inspection requirements for the five years after their model year. Senate Bill 89 modifies state law so that vehicles are exempt for a period of 10 years after their model year, provided the vehicle has fewer than 150,000 miles.

Current state law requires the Department of Revenue to notify a vehicle owner that he or she must show proof of insurance or financial responsibility at least 30 days before the registration expires on a vehicle.

Because the department sends out that notice 30 days in advance, some drivers — particularly those with September renewals — may have received a notice saying that an inspection was required.

But, after Aug. 28, a vehicle with fewer than 150,000 miles and that is 10 years old or less (based upon the year the vehicle was manufactured) will need an inspection to be licensed.

The department considers a vehicle to be 10 years old through Dec. 31 of the 10th year following its manufacture year. For example, a vehicle manufactured in 2009 is considered to be 10 years old through Dec. 31, 2019.

Fees related to driver's licenses and vehicle title and registration transactions are also changing at the end of the month.

The license office processing fee for a driver's license or permit issued for three years or less is increasing from $2.50 to $6. For licenses and permits issued for three years or more, it is increasing from $5 to $12.

The annual vehicle registration processing fee is increasing from $3.50 to $6 and the biennial registration processing fee from $7 to $12.

The title application processing fee is increasing from $2.50 to $6.

"It's been over 20 years since Missouri last increased processing fees for driver licenses and vehicle registration," Acting Revenue Director Ken Zellers said in the news release. "Although these fees are increasing, we want customers to understand that other costs will remain the same at this time.

"For example, if a customer visits a license office today to renew their $24.25 license plate registration for one year, they would pay the annual registration fee of $24.25 plus a $3.50 processing fee, for a total of $27.75. Starting Aug. 28, the annual registration fee would still be $24.25, but the processing fee will cost $6, for a total of $30.25."

A third change in driving regulations would require the Department of Revenue to revoke an individual's driver's license upon notification from law enforcement that the individual was involved in an accident where their vehicle struck a highway or emergency worker in a construction or emergency zone.

The driver would have 18 days from the date of the department-issued notice to appeal. Otherwise, the individual would be required to take and pass the written and driving portions of the driver's license examination in order to have driving privileges reinstated.

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT