Callaway puts 11 players on media all-district teams

Eleven Callaway County players — seven girls and four boys — were named to the 2014 all-district basketball teams announced Wednesday by the Missouri Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association’s Central District.

Selected to the Class 4 girls’ squad from Fulton were sophomore guard Sloane Totta and sophomore forward NaShayla Brandt, while junior guard Ricky Dawson made the Class 4 boys’ team.

North Callaway junior guard Elaine Brinker was a first-team pick on the Class 3 girls’ team and senior guard Jaida Gray was a second-team choice, while senior forward Brett Metcalf was named to the Class 3 boys’ first team.

South Callaway senior forward Cody Vandelicht and junior guard Troy Hentges were both second-team picks on the Class 3 boys’ squad, while senior guard Taylor Howard was selected to the Class 3 girls’ second team.

Chosen to the Class 2 girls’ second team from New Bloomfield were senior guard Bethany Craighead and junior forward Zoe Welschmeyer.

To finish reading this article, please pick up a copy of The Fulton Sun at a newsstand nearest you or become a subscriber by calling (573) 642-7272.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Please review our Policies and Procedures before registering or commenting.

| Fulton Sun>