SoCal grants one-step pay hikes averaging $700

A one-step salary schedule pay increase averaging about $700 per employee has been approved by the South Callaway R-2 Board of Education.

The board Wednesday night approved the one-step salary increase for non-teaching employees. The board earlier had approved a similar one-step salary increase for teachers.

Step increases are awarded after the second year of employment.

Superintendent Mary Lynn Battles told the board Wednesday night that closure of the Missouri 94 bridge over Auxvasse Creek for maintenance improvements by the Missouri Department of Transportation will cause only minimal disruption of R-2 school bus routes.

The bridge will be closed starting at 8:30 a.m. on May 30, which is the last day of school at South Callaway.

Buses that use the bridge, which is three miles east of Mokane, will take their normal routes on the morning of May 30. But that afternoon they will take a detour around the closed bridge. The bridge deck and beams will be replaced during construction work this summer.

The board was told that school buses serving the district have received a 100 percent safety rating for six consecutive years. The district has qualified as an Excellent Fleet in its safety rating for the last 17 years.

Board secretary Joyce Mealy said a state safety inspection report reveals the district scored perfect 100 percent in 12 of the 21 years since 1990.

The board Wednesday night was reorganized after the April 5 election. In that election, board member Gary Jungermann, who last November was elected as the Callaway County presiding commissioner, did not seek re-election to the school board.

Mark Laughlin was elected to replace Jungermann on the R-2 Board of Education. Two other board incumbents were re-elected to the board. They are Kit Glover and Brent Woods. All three were elected to three-year terms on the board.

The board Wednesday night re-elected Erin Rogers-Howard as board president and Glover was re-elected as vice president.

Other members of the current board are Ryan Arrowood, Bill Lister, and Susan Ward.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Please review our Policies and Procedures before registering or commenting.

| Fulton Sun>